Return to iWEBTOOL

Go Back   iWEBTOOL Talk > Talk Lounge > Introduce yourself
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 
Welcome to iWEBTOOL Talk, where you talk about webmaster-related stuff.
 
Discuss topics which interest you.
With over thousands of threads (topics), we're sure you'll find something that'll interest you.
Ask for help whenever you need it.
We have thousands of members who are available to help you if you need it.
It's absolutely FREE!

 1  Register           2  Browse the board           3  Discuss whatever may interest you!
 


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2007, 02:34 AM   #1
Hearya
Newcomer
 
Hearya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 0
Hearya is on a distinguished road
Question Newbie

I am new to all of this and the reason for me entering is two part. One to learn more about where email has come from and two to see if anyone can help me decide if the question below can be answered. I Thank anyone that can help. I have been recieving harassing email and believe I know the answer though the info below can maybe tell me if my thoughts are correct.

This first address is from an unkown source and I am curious if someone can tell me by looking at what was in the headers from 2 seperate email accounts if the two are coming from the same place. Is there any other info needed and can alot more be found by something I am not doing or by software?

This first is from a aol message !
user agent ; Mozilla/5.0 (Windows: U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US;rv;1.7.2)
Gecko/20040804 Netscape/7.2(ax)
Return-Path: <blank blank> (I took out the email name)
Recieved: From (127.0.0.1) (CPE-72.181.221.13.houston.res.rr.com(72.181.221.13)

This second is from a Yahoo message !

Recieved: from 24.93.47.43 (EHLO ms-smtp-04.texas.rr.com)(24.93.47.43) by
mta459.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed,03 Jan 2007 15:29:10 -0800
Recieved: From Faith (cpe-72-181-221-13.houston.res.rr.com [72.181.221.13] by ms-smtp-04.texas.rr.com (8.13.6/8.13.6) with SMTP id 103NMQvW019543; Wed, 3 Jan 2007 17:26:46-0600(CST)
Hearya is offline  
 
This is an Ad Revenue Sharing forum Place your advert here
SEO Checklist
Get yourself better ranking with
our "Do-it-Yourself" SEO Checklist.
Click Here
Old 01-30-2007, 03:30 AM   #2
jumpenjuhosaphat
 Contributor 
 
jumpenjuhosaphat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 4,459
jumpenjuhosaphat has much to be proud ofjumpenjuhosaphat has much to be proud ofjumpenjuhosaphat has much to be proud ofjumpenjuhosaphat has much to be proud ofjumpenjuhosaphat has much to be proud ofjumpenjuhosaphat has much to be proud ofjumpenjuhosaphat has much to be proud ofjumpenjuhosaphat has much to be proud of
Default Re: Newbie

It looks as though both IP's are the same address, so my guess is it's from the same person.
__________________
Storage Sheds
Lost Forum
jumpenjuhosaphat is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 04:46 AM   #3
djjase
Member
 
djjase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 83
djjase will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Newbie

Here are the details for that ip - if your getting abuse email send it to the email address listed towards the bottom
OrgName: Road Runner HoldCo LLC
OrgID: RRSW
Address: 13241 Woodland Park Road
City: Herndon
StateProv: VA
PostalCode: 20171
Country: US

ReferralServer: rwhois://ipmt.rr.com:4321

NetRange: 72.176.0.0 - 72.191.255.255
CIDR: 72.176.0.0/12
NetName: RRSW
NetHandle: NET-72-176-0-0-1
Parent: NET-72-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: DNS1.RR.COM
NameServer: DNS2.RR.COM
NameServer: DNS3.RR.COM
NameServer: DNS5.RR.COM
NameServer: DNS6.RR.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 2005-11-21
Updated: 2006-10-16

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE10-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-703-345-3416
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@rr.com

OrgTechHandle: IPTEC-ARIN
OrgTechName: IP Tech
OrgTechPhone: +1-703-345-3416
OrgTechEmail: abuse@rr.com
__________________
Looking for something to buy?
www.whatstobuy.com
Has all the items that you want to buy
djjase is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 04:31 PM   #4
Hearya
Newcomer
 
Hearya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 0
Hearya is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newbie

Thanx I was afraid it was true ! As everyone knows it is sad to have to loose someone you thought was a friend & turns out to be evil.

Thank to those that replied
Sincerely.


Do I send both email headers etc Right and then what course of action is taken to stop it ? After doing this what happens next ?

At abuse@rr.com correct?

Last edited 01-30-2007 at 09:27 PM. Reason: added questions
Hearya is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 02:01 PM   #5
atilla
Member
 
atilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ANTALYA
Posts: 41
atilla will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to atilla Send a message via AIM to atilla Send a message via MSN to atilla
Default Re: Newbie

be carefull with answering a spam mail...
if you answer so they know you have recive it ... so you will become more spam... and welcome here at iwebtool talk
__________________
Atilla
--------------------------------------------------
ANTALYA REAL ESTATE Bedava Website Emlakcilar ilanlari
atilla is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 09:20 PM   #6
kenni
Registered Member
 
kenni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,543
kenni is a splendid one to beholdkenni is a splendid one to beholdkenni is a splendid one to beholdkenni is a splendid one to beholdkenni is a splendid one to beholdkenni is a splendid one to beholdkenni is a splendid one to beholdkenni is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Newbie

I'll go with what djjase said, and welcome in.
__________________
Wanna thank someone? Give 'em a rep. More info.
kenni is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 08:54 PM   #7
Milton
Newcomer
 
Milton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Milton is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hearya View Post
Thanx I was afraid it was true ! As everyone knows it is sad to have to loose someone you thought was a friend & turns out to be evil.

Thank to those that replied
Sincerely.


Do I send both email headers etc Right and then what course of action is taken to stop it ? After doing this what happens next ?

At abuse@rr.com correct?
I know it's sad to think a friend may be harrassing you. But don't be so fast to jump to that conclusion. The IPs you listed appear from the same person, yet they dont. Curious, indeed. If that person's password has been compromised and used elsewhere, that could could make it seem like the same email address. Or if someone else regularly uses the computer without the owner's knowledge. Or maybe your friend allows others to send personal email through it on a casual basis. Or if another person helped reset some of the settings and kept a back door open, same thing could happen. Bottom line, there are a number of ways that an IP or email address could easily look the same, yet not the same. You might ask your friend if anyone else uses that computer, or if anyone else helped reset the settings recently. When it comes to friends, tread lightly, because if you lose a friend for the wrong reason, it'll be very hard for that friend to ever trust you again if you turn out to be wrong. Just some friendly personal and computing advice.
Milton is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 05:23 PM   #8
look4edmund
Wish you were here!
 
look4edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 590
look4edmund will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to look4edmund
Default Re: Newbie

Hi There,

Welcome to the Family. Happy Lunar New Year.



Edmund
look4edmund is offline  
 
This is an Ad Revenue Sharing forum Place your advert here
Webmaster Tools Webmaster Tools Click Here
Closed Thread

(Threads which have no activity for more than 30 days are automatically closed.)



Quick Reply
Message:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie here... donnadayrit Introduce yourself 8 11-01-2006 10:14 PM
Hello newbie!!! anniee1981 Introduce yourself 8 11-01-2006 07:04 PM
Newbie from Oz frostw Introduce yourself 3 10-11-2006 02:52 PM
a newbie:) worksense Introduce yourself 4 10-11-2006 02:47 PM
Not a newbie :) Michael_Goldman Introduce yourself 9 06-05-2006 10:31 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin v3.6.7 © 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO © 2006, Crawlability, Inc.