|
| |||||||
![]() | Welcome to iWEBTOOL Talk, where you talk about
webmaster-related stuff.
1 Register
2 Browse the board
3 Discuss whatever may interest you! | |||||||||||||
![]() |
| | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
| | #1 | |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Hull, United Kingdom.
Posts: 317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Hi there, Here is an e-mail I have received, and I have in fact received it many times before. apart from being a really stupid scam, it is also damn right sick. Read this. Quote:
The e-mail was sent from atamu16@hotmail.com and was asking my to reply to spohams@myway.com (I assume the reply e-mail address is a really unthoughtful anagram meaning "oh spams") Please whatever you do, don't reply to this e-mail if you get it, and block these e-mail addresses from your mailbox. This has to be the most stupid spam message I have received yet :sad: . Regards, Kieran Taylor. | |
| |
|
| |||||||
| | #2 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
![]() | I actually got something like that, like some company whose owner is retiring and has no descendants and they want me to claim for it in Hong Kong. Then they ask for my information but never ever mentioned specifically who it was addressed to xD |
| |
| | #3 | |
| Contributor Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: Denver
Posts: 4,459
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Quote:
I get those every other day. My wife get's them a couple of times per day. The ones I think to look out for are the ones that look authentic. My wife got one from HRBlock.com the other day, asking for her to do her taxes early. She followed the link, and it then asked for her personal information. She didn't give it, and had she it wouldn't have made a difference anyhow, because it was HRBlock.com that sent the email, but you just never know. Best thing to do is not follow any links in an email, if you need to go to that website, direct address it. | |
| |
| | #4 |
| Senior Member Contributor | I get alot from ebay saying your account has been suspended please re-enter your credit card info to confurm its you. I know its fake the address its sent to I no longer get ebay messages to that address I use a differnt one.Also I report to ebay by forwarding it to spoof@ebay.com
__________________ general Chat forum here |
| |
| | #5 |
| Registered Member Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,543
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I've received a number of these spam asking for personal information. Just as jumpen said, just go to the direct address rather than clicking on the link in the e-mail.
__________________ Wanna thank someone? Give 'em a rep. More info. |
| |
| | #6 |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Hull, United Kingdom.
Posts: 317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Hi there, I'd say the best advice, is don't trust anyone, and only open an e-mail if you were expecting it. If you wasn't don't open it. I have never received a virus through e-mail ever, and I stick by these rules and they have kept me safe. Regards, Kieran Taylor. |
| |
| | #7 |
| Moderator Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,138
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | This scam is real big at dating sites. I get about three members a week at rateanddateonline.com that try to pull the same scam.
__________________ Webmaster Resources & Forums / Webmaster Tools & Forum / eCommerce Shopping Basket / Scene Releases |
| |
| | #8 |
| Newcomer Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
![]() | Thanks for that. I am aware of a lot of scam schemes. Most are from Nigeria. |
| |
| | #9 |
| Senior Member Contributor | once in a while I will get one that say says im from a company baised in the UK and the problem is custermers is they want to pay in US money orders but I can't cash them so I need some to set up a accont I would send you the money orders you would take your percentage out and wire the rest back. thats a major scam right there
__________________ general Chat forum here |
| |
| | #11 |
| Junior Guru Join Date: Nov 2006 Location: London, UK
Posts: 792
![]() ![]() | I got one about teh MS loto, I posted it on my website here if you wish to have a look, I commented on it. http://www.giovanni.xenweb.net/Beat%20the%20Scams.htm
__________________ |
| |
| | #12 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
![]() | I also get alot of these emails, i never read them just delete
__________________ play poker All-In Poker World or Online Poker Startpage for your cheap holidays Holiday |
| |
| | #13 | |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Hull, United Kingdom.
Posts: 317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Hi there, I got another one about an hour ago from the same site; Quote:
Hey the funny thing is, what if these were real and I never reply .Regards, Kieran Taylor. | |
| |
| | #14 |
| Senior Member Contributor | But how did they get your email in the first place.If its real you would have to find it.
__________________ general Chat forum here |
| |
| | #15 |
| Junior Guru Join Date: Nov 2006 Location: London, UK
Posts: 792
![]() ![]() | I find them funny how dumb tehy think veryone is
__________________ |
| |
(Threads which have no activity for more than 30 days are automatically closed.) |
| Quick Reply | ||
|
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Yahoo! Search Marketing a Scam? | Lilly | Yahoo | 8 | 11-28-2006 01:09 PM |
| (UK) Royal Mail have confirmed a scam | Katey | General Talk | 3 | 11-03-2006 05:06 AM |
| advanced ebay mail scam | UnKnown | General Talk | 8 | 10-07-2006 10:58 AM |
| Two URL's owned by same guy have the same ranking...what's the scam? | soleman | Domain Name | 3 | 05-06-2006 11:23 PM |
| Domain buying scam | simon | Domain Name | 4 | 02-09-2006 09:28 PM |