|
| |||||||
![]() | Welcome to iWEBTOOL Talk, where you talk about
webmaster-related stuff.
1 Register
2 Browse the board
3 Discuss whatever may interest you! | |||||||||||||
![]() |
| | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
| | #1 |
| Newcomer Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
![]() | Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum and domain names, but have a fair bit of experience with online advertising. I recently took to try and sell one of my domain names (bought one too many from Go Daddy, it's addictive! - incidently, never had any problems with them at all, always helped me thoroughly). I got an email from someone called Mark, claiming to be from Opera.com (a software company who develop websites and domains and offers internet advertising). Luckily for me I know a bit about Opera previously and wondered why on earth they would want my website when they are pretty web savvy and represent sites themselves, so they probably would have the sites they want already, and b, were emailing me with an .ru web address! Alarm bells started to ring so, digging a little deeper, it turns out to be a scam to get you to pay £80 to get your domain "manually" appraised (they slate go daddy, sedo and others "automated" techniques in favour for "their recommended" appraisal. Needless to say I am avoiding this like the plague, however I wanted to make sure other people do not fall foul of this scandal. I guess the lessen learned here is, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is... thanks SJ http://www.thebusinessidea.com |
| |
|
| |||||||
| | #2 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: US
Posts: 18
![]() | It brakes my hart when i get those types of e-mails .... or not )It happen to me too and just to see where this is going wknowing that it's a scam i've send them an e-mail and made them a silly proposal ... not to scam them but just to see how big was their hunger.. they did fall for it ...lol |
| |
| | #3 |
| Member Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 162
![]() | it does seem to come from the .ru area alot. I got an ebay scam from .ru, i just ignored it. Scamming seems to be getting , more and more popular
__________________ Become a tutor or find a tutor and use the tutors guide now at Local Tutor: Tuition Directory Investment forum Artificial Intelligence forum |
| |
| | #4 |
| Registered Member Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,543
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Good job on noticing the scam. Sometimes a website might even redirect you to a scam website and you may not realize the scam. The best thing to do is check your URL properly whenever you are entering any confidential details -- ensure it is the proper domain name.
__________________ Wanna thank someone? Give 'em a rep. More info. |
| |
(Threads which have no activity for more than 30 days are automatically closed.) |
| Quick Reply | ||
|
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| How to protect my context on the website? | Joan | Programming | 10 | 09-03-2006 10:28 PM |