|
| |||||||
![]() | Welcome to iWEBTOOL Talk, where you talk about
webmaster-related stuff.
1 Register
2 Browse the board
3 Discuss whatever may interest you! | |||||||||||||
![]() |
| | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
| | #1 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: London
Posts: 58
![]() | Hello all, I have no idea where to post this, so I'll start here... I have a lot of traffic on PokerDIY, so I checked my logs and there are a lot of weird looking referrers in a: http://www.ftstart.com/ http://www.party-flights.com/party-poker-strategy.html http://www.catherypacific.com/pacific-poker-games.html http://www.animal-rescue-kingdom.org...tutorials.html http://www.thecasinopokerrooms.com/c...ker-rooms.html They all look the same – same layout – different links (slightly)… reading the content you can see it makes no sense… If you click on their advertising link you’ll see they are all the same. Some even have the same banners. I think they scraping related websites (hence my hits) and parsing together articles that probably remain up for a few days to get indexed by search engines, and then they put affiliate links and ads on. They run hundreds of these, so that normal punters do searches and go to these bogus sites and click on their links. So… is this good or bad? I don’t know – I benefit nothing but my logs look like a lot of people visited the site. Anyone know anything about this? Is this a common practice? Excuse my ignorance if this is a common subject ![]() |
| |
|
| |||||||
| | #2 |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Hull, United Kingdom.
Posts: 317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Hi there, Probably just SPAM sites, as you can see one of the URLs is Animal Rescue Kingdom and then you click on it and it is showing poker tutorials. I had this when I used to look in my AWstats and I think they are just SPAM sites using useless domains for backing. Don't worry about it the world will be rid of these sort of things eventually. I'm sure everyone get these. Regards, Kieran Taylor. |
| |
| | #3 |
| Junior Member | Yes. With a reseller account and some dubious software you can set up about ten of these sites a day. They are a nightmare, and I don't know if google knows it or not, but they are destroying Googles reputation slowly but surely. The future will be paid listings, I am sad to say, but I am sure it will happen. Paul. |
| |
| | #4 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: London
Posts: 58
![]() | Hmmm - it is annoying - it makes my site look nice and popular but I need to know how many users are real vs web crawlers! I can imagine the mentality behind a user who stumbles across it - they see it and at first glance the content makes no sense - so they click on a link (advert) that does make sense... With the sheer numbers these crooks make a killing! |
| |
(Threads which have no activity for more than 30 days are automatically closed.) |
| Quick Reply | ||
|
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| screen shot software | lite_ws | Tools & Software | 9 | 12-16-2006 03:58 PM |
| my new dynamic php website: smartcoyote.com | lite_ws | Website Reviews | 4 | 10-16-2006 10:07 PM |
| What Screen Resolution do You use? | Seeker81 | General Talk | 12 | 09-15-2006 03:26 AM |
| PokerDIY - Free tools and leagues for home poker players | rodneyjoyce | Advertise your website | 0 | 08-22-2006 01:33 PM |
| Internal PR Issues--Dynamic code? | ConsumerChoiceReview | Search Engine Optimization (SEO) | 0 | 01-27-2006 05:27 AM |