Return to iWEBTOOL

Go Back   iWEBTOOL Talk > The Web and your Website > Domain Name
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 
Welcome to iWEBTOOL Talk, where you talk about webmaster-related stuff.
 
Discuss topics which interest you.
With over thousands of threads (topics), we're sure you'll find something that'll interest you.
Ask for help whenever you need it.
We have thousands of members who are available to help you if you need it.
It's absolutely FREE!

 1  Register           2  Browse the board           3  Discuss whatever may interest you!
 


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2007, 09:21 AM   #1
Advertise
Newcomer
 
Advertise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Advertise is on a distinguished road
Angry Legitimate or not?

Legitimate or not?
Within the last two weeks, two of Clock Tower Law Group's clients have received email solicitations from a company in China. The company appears to be offering registered trademark owners (i.e. our clients) the chance to register certain Chinese domain names that a third party (Gardiner Limited) is supposedly trying to register.

Each of my clients thought that the email sounded suspicious and asked for my help. Is this a legitimate and clever marketing campaign? Or is it something else? I do not know the answer. I hope that by posting the emails (edited to remove the names of my clients and replacing their domains with "example") in this article that others will find this article and provide their input in the comments.

This email arrived first:

Subject: URGENT-Dispute of trademark / China
From: Andy Wang
To: [DELETED]


Dear Manager,


We are Shanghai JinYue Network Technology Co., Ltd, which is the domain name register center in China.I have something need to confirm with you.
we have received an application formally,one company named "Konderl Holdings Limited" applies for the domain names(YourCompany.cn ,YourCompany.com.cn ,YourCompany.net ,YourCompany.net.cn ,YourCompany.org ,YourCompany.org.cn) and the internet Brand Name (YourCompany) on the internet spe 3, 2007. We need to know the opinion of your company, because the domain names and internet brand name may relate to the usufruct of brand name on internet.
we would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible. Please let someone in your company who is responsible for trademark or intellectual right contact me freely.


After our initial examination, we found that the internet
brand being applied for is as same as your company's
name. These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the
affirmation from your company. If your company has not
authorized the aforesaid company to register these, Please
contact us as soon as possible.

In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for
dissent application is 15 days. If your company files no
dissent within the time limit, we will unconditionally
approve the application submitted by "Gardiner Limited".

Best Regards,

Andy Wang


——————————————————————————–
Andy Wang
China Internet Network approve Organization
JinYue Internet Technology Co.,Ltd
Tel:+86-21-6427 1113
Fax:+86-21-6427 1117
Email: andy@domaingov.cn
MSN:andy.wang2008@hotmail .com
Advertise is offline  
 
This is an Ad Revenue Sharing forum Place your advert here
SEO Checklist
Get yourself better ranking with
our "Do-it-Yourself" SEO Checklist.
Click Here
Old 09-05-2007, 11:44 PM   #2
submitceo
Member
 
submitceo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ga
Posts: 188
submitceo will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Legitimate or not?

It's a scam. But if I were you I would have fun with them.
Email them back and let them know you sent the funds they request via western union, and why haven't they picked them up?
I love doing that.
submitceo is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 05:20 AM   #3
Richard Joseph
IWT Moderator Bum
 Contributor 
 
Richard Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 337
Richard Joseph is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Legitimate or not?

yea definitly a scam...

i won 10 mill the other day from a similar email...

but when i ended up calling them they were very suprised that i found there # and now there lines disconected lol
__________________
Please, apply the signature policy
Best cpanel Host
Vancouver Storage Containers
Richard Joseph is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:40 PM   #4
jethrotul
Member
 
jethrotul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 183
jethrotul will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Legitimate or not?

To the OP, do your clients need these domains with Chinese extensions? If yes, why can't they simply register without sending money anywhere?
jethrotul is offline  
 
This is an Ad Revenue Sharing forum Place your advert here
Webmaster Tools Webmaster Tools Click Here
Closed Thread

(Threads which have no activity for more than 30 days are automatically closed.)



Quick Reply
Message:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legitimate Free 10GB Space Hosting desbest Web Hosting 0 07-16-2007 11:29 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin v3.6.7 © 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO © 2006, Crawlability, Inc.